Faith Basics


The Seven Sacraments:

  1. Baptism
  2. The Holy Eucharist
  3. Confirmation
  4. Penance
  5. Holy Orders
  6. Holy Matrimony
  7. Unction (annointing) of the Sick

Three Theological Virtues:

  1. Faith
  2. Hope
  3. Charity

The Four Cardinal Virtues:

  1. Justice
  2. Prudence
  3. Temperance
  4. Fortitude

The Seven Gifts of the Holy Spirit:

  1. Wisdom
  2. Understanding
  3. Counsel
  4. Spiritual Strength
  5. Knowledge
  6. True Godliness
  7. Holy Fear

The Twelve Fruits of the Holy Spirit:

  1. Love
  2. Joy
  3. Peace
  4. Long-suffering
  5. Gentleness
  6. Goodness
  7. Faith
  8. Meekness
  9. Patience
  10. Modesty
  11. Temperance
  12. Chastity

The Seven Spiritual Works of Mercy:

  1. To instruct the ignorant
  2. To correct offenders
  3. To counsel the doubtful
  4. To comfort the afflicted
  5. To suffer injuries with patience
  6. To forgive offences and wrongs
  7. To pray for others

The Seven Corporal Works of Mercy:

  1. To feed the hungry and give drink to the thirsty
  2. To clothe the naked
  3. To harbour the stranger and needy
  4. To visit the sick
  5. To minister to prisioners and captives
  6. To visit the orphans and widows
  7. To bury the dead

The Eight Beatitudes of Jesus:

“Blessed are the poor in spirit,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Blessed are they who mourn,
for they shall be comforted.

Blessed are the meek,
for they shall inherit the earth.

Blessed are they who hunger and thirst for righteousness,
for they shall be satisfied.

Blessed are the merciful,
for they shall obtain mercy.

Blessed are the pure of heart,
for they shall see God.

Blessed are the peacemakers,
for they shall be called children of God.

Blessed are they who are persecuted for the sake of righteousness,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.”

The Seven Deadly Sins:

  1. Pride
  2. Covetousness
  3. Lust
  4. Envy
  5. Gluttony
  6. Anger
  7. Sloth

The Seven Contrary Virtues:

  1. Humility
  2. Liberality
  3. Chastity
  4. Gentleness
  5. Temperance
  6. Patience
  7. Diligence

Nine Ways of Participating in another’s Sin:

  1. By counsel
  2. By command
  3. By consent
  4. By provocation
  5. By praise or flattery
  6. By concealment
  7. By partaking
  8. By silence
  9. By defence of the ill

Three Notable Duties:

  1. Prayer
  2. Fasting
  3. Almsgiving

The Three Parts of True Repentance:

  1. Contrition
  2. Confession
  3. Satisfaction

The Evangelical Councils:

  1. Voluntary Poverty
  2. Chastity
  3. Holy Obedience

The Seven Words on the Cross:

The First Word:
“Father, forgive them for they do not know what they do”
The Second Word:
“Today you will be with Me in Paradise”
The Third Word:
“Woman, behold your son.. behold your mother”
The Fourth Word:
“My God, My God, why have You forsaken Me?”
The Fifth Word:
“I thirst.”
The Sixth Word:
“It is finished.”
The Seventh Word:
“Father, into Your hands I commend My spirit.

The Four Last Things:

  1. Death
  2. Judgement
  3. Heaven
  4. Hell

Subjects for Daily Meditation and Prayer:

Remember, Christian Soul, that you have this day, and every day of your life:

  1. God to glorify
  2. Jesus to imitate
  3. A soul to save
  4. A body to mortify
  5. Sins to repent of
  6. Virtues to acquire
  7. Hell to avoid
  8. Heaven to gain
  9. Eternity to prepare for
  10. Time to profit by
  11. Neighbours to edify
  12. The world to despise
  13. Devils to combat
  14. Passions to subdue
  15. Death perhaps to suffer
  16. Judgement to undergo

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: